The Grand Ridge PTSA recognizes volunteers, educators and community members who go above and beyond for the sake of our kids through the Golden Acorn, Outstanding Educator, and Outstanding Advocate awards for the previous year (January -December 2019).  Please take a moment to recognize the extraordinary teachers, staff, volunteers and advocates in our community by submitting a nomination.

Our PTSA gives Golden Acorn Awards to people who have given exemplary volunteer service to children and youth in our school and community. The Golden Acorn Award is very special and is given for continued and dedicated service.

The Outstanding Educator Award  recognizes individuals who have provided outstanding educational opportunities for children and youth that are beyond the normal scope of their jobs. An educator can be, but is not limited to, a teacher and can include specialists, support staff, administrators, or community members.

The Outstanding Advocate Award honors an individual for a demonstrated commitment to helping create strong policies relating to the health, welfare, safety, and education of our children. Volunteers who speak up for students, or who try to change things for the benefit of children are considered advocates. Nominees for this award could be a general or specialist teacher, an assistant, administrator, other school or district staff, or a community member.

We invite any parent, staff, student or community member to make a nomination. The process is simple: click on the corresponding link below, fill it out, and submit it electronically.

Golden Acorn Award:

Outstanding Educator Award:

Outstanding Advocate Award:

The deadline for nomination submission is Monday February 24, 2020.

If you prefer, paper ballots can be found in the school office and submitted there as well. If you have any questions, please contact Erin Michael, via email at or via phone at 206-778-0235.


Past Winners:

Outstanding Advocate Award

2018-19:  Alicia Spinner

2017-18:  Justin Oppelar

2016-17:  Tim Ryan

2015-16:  Carrie Mount

2014-15:  Pam Cabrera

2013-14:  Christy Otley

2012-13:  Leslie Warrick

2011-12:  Leslie Warrick

2010-11:  Leslie Warrick


Outstanding Educators

2018-19:  Sanjana Pathak

2017-18:  Kim Goodman

2016-17:  Jennifer Houghton & Brandy Falk

2015-16:  Wendy Marsh & Connie Face

2014-15:  Allison King

2013-14:  Alice Badgley

2012-13:  Darrel Nichols

2011-12:  Anne Douglas

2010-11:  Maureen Bacon

2009-10:  Lauren Dammers

2008-09:  Kris Coleman

2007-08:  Becky Rapin & Connie Face

2006-07:  Lori Bunstead & Barb Walton


Golden Acorn Award

2018-19:  Angela Bizzari & Aline Bloch

2017-18:  Alicia Spinner & Joanne Mockford

2016-17:  Lisa Kim

2015-16:  Anne Taylor, Alicia Spinner & Angela Bizzari

2014-15:  Danielle Graham, Alisa George & Michele Brode

2013-14:  Lisa Callan

2012-13:  Carolyn Kennedy

2011-12:  Lida Buckner

2010-11:  Theora Dalupan, Kristen Wisdom & Nancy Castonguay

2009-10:  Theora Dalupan, Lida Buckner & Cyn Baumert

2008-09:  Leslie Warrick, Lida Buckner & Cyn Baumert

2007-08:  Audrey Winslow, Tina Ko & Theora Dalupan

2006-07:  Audrey Winslow, Julie Siefkes, Stephanie Shipley, Celia Shells, Debbie Rossman, Donna McCloud, Robbin Hodder, Karen Hirsch, Erica Davis, Theora Dalupan, Deb Courage & Cyn Baumert